Everything you want to know about ISSAP exam

Q. What is the ISSAP exam?
A. ISSAP (Information Systems Security Architecture Professional) is an independent information security certification concentration of the CISSP governed by the International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium ((ISC)2).

For experienced information security professionals with an International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium ((ISC)2) CISSP credential in good standing, the (ISC)2 ISSAP Concentration demonstrates acquired precise knowledge of select Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) domains in Security Architecture.

The ISSAP certification requires a candidate to demonstrate two years of professional experience in the area of architecture and it is an appropriate credential for Chief Security Architects and Analysts who may typically work as independent consultants or in similar capacities. The security architect plays a key role within the information security department with responsibilities that functionally fit between the C-suite and upper managerial level and the implementation of the security program. The candidate must have the knowledge of developing, designing, or analyzing the overall security plan.

Q. What certificate does it provide?
A. This exam provides the CISSP-ISSAP certification.

Q. How many questions are asked in the test?
A. The ISSAP exam consists of 125 multiple choice questions, each having four choices. 25 of the questions are used for research, but these questions are not identified. These research questions are not part of the total score.

Q. What is the duration of the test?
A. Candidates are required to attempt all questions in 180 minutes.

Q. Which type of the test is it? (Adaptive/Linear)
A. It is a linear test.

Q. What is the passing score?
A. The candidate must score at least 700 on a scale of 1000.

Q. What is the test retake policy?
A. If you do not pass the ISSAP test for the first time, you may retake it at any time. There is no restriction on the number of times a candidate can appear for exam. There is no waiting period between attempts.

Q. Is the ISSAP exam right for me?
A. The ISSAP exam prepares you for various job roles, which include: System Architect, Business Analyst, Chief Security Officer, Chief Technology Officer, and System and Network Designer. This concentration is an appropriate credential for Chief Security Architects and Analysts who may typically work as independent consultants or in similar capacities.

Q. What are the skills being measured for the ISSAP exam?
A. The skills measured for the ISSAP exam are as follows:

  • Understanding access control systems and methodology.
  • Evaluating communications and network security.
  • Understanding and implementing cryptography.
  • Understanding security architecture analysis.
  • Understanding technology related business continuity planning (BCP) and disaster recovery planning (DRP).
  • Evaluating physical security considerations.

Q. How to prepare for the ISSAP exam?
A. In order to prepare for the ISSAP exam, you should prepare the major domains of the CBK covered by ISSAP certification:

  • Access Control Systems and Methodology
  • Cryptography
  • Physical Security Considerations
  • Security Architecture Analysis
  • Technology Related Business Continuity Planning (BCP) & Disaster Recovery Planning
  • Communications & Network Security

Q. Where to take the test?
A. The testing centers are provided by the testing partner as you register for the exam. For ISSAP, the testing partner is Pearson VUE.

Q. How do I register for an ISSAP exam?
A. Take the following steps to register for an ISSAP exam:

  • Select a date and location
  • Create a Contact Record/Log In
  • Agree to Terms & Conditions
  • Complete the Online Form
  • Make Payment
  • When the registration is received and application is approved, admission documents for the examination will be emailed to the candidate.

Q. How to locate a testing center?
A. Pearson VUE is the ISC2 authorized test delivery partner. You may choose a testing center from the Pearson VUE testing center list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *