Ransomware – a malicious software that threatens you in various ways including denying you to access your data. The attacker demands a ransom to restore data access. Despite the fact that there has been a recent decline, ransomware is still a serious threat. ESET – an IT security company in a recent survey of 3000+ people in the US and Canada showed that many are unaware of ransomware and how to defend against it. The following is based upon the data collected by ESET:

Ransomware attacks
  1. 85% would never pay the ransom fee
  2. 42% had no idea about their Internet security
  3. 31% never back up their files
  4. 30% did not know about ransomware

In order for organizations to be safe from ransomware attacks, all employees must be educated about hacking and informed of the resources they can use to protect their data. Here are some measures everyone should take to be safe from malicious software.

  • Keep your system software updated to ensure you have fewer vulnerabilities to exploit.
  • Never install any unknown software on your system or give it administrative privileges.
  • Keep a reliable and paid antivirus product in your system which detects malicious programs like ransomware as they arrive.

Backup your files, frequently and automatically. Though it won’t stop a malware attack, but it can make the damage less significant.

Should ransom be paid to the attackers?

If your system has been infected with malware and your data is at risk, should you pay the ransom?  Most law enforcement agencies urge you not to pay ransomware attackers because it encourages hackers’ attacks. According to research from Trend Micro, while 66% of companies agree to never pay a ransom as a point of principle,  65% actually do pay the ransom when they get hit.

There are a couple of things to remember before you decide to deal with these cyber criminals. Firstly, what appears to be ransomware may not have encrypted your data at all, make sure you are not dealing with “scareware” before you send any money to the attacker. Secondly, paying the attacker does not guarantee that you will get back your data. Sometimes the attackers take the money and may not have even built a decryption functionality into the malware.

The best way is to take precautions to minimize the impact of such attacks. To gain more knowledge for keeping your system safe, check out uCertify CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst courses.

Kathleen Monthy has 12+ years of work experience and she is currently working as Tier 1 IT Help Desk at Cellular World Management. She has earned a number of certifications that include CySA+, Linux+, and A+. She has skills in Microsoft Word, Microsoft Office, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator, and more. Recently she reviewed uCertify CySA+ course and provided the following valuable feedback:

Kathleen Monthy reviewed uCertify CySA+ course

I had the pleasure to go through uCertify’s CySA+ training course. The course provides the skills required to pass the CS0-001 exam and helps you learn about logs, attacks, risks, and how to address these issues.

The course comes with exam based practice tests and is also helpful for beginners. The course is very useful and provides a hands-on learning experience on cybersecurity exam topics.

To read the complete feedback, please click here.

Thank you Kathleen for your valuable feedback!  We are glad that you found our course helpful.To know more about Kathleen, contact via her LinkedIn profile.

CompTIA Security+ is a globally recognized vendor neutral credential that validates the expertise of professionals to perform core security functions in an IT security career. Security+ certification focuses on the latest techniques in risk management, risk mitigation, threat management, and intrusion detection. It encompasses hands-on troubleshooting to ensure security professionals have practical security problem-solving skills and establishes the understanding required of any cybersecurity role. This certification is specially designed for the Systems Administrator, Network Administrator, Security Administrator, Junior IT Auditor/ Penetration Tester, Security Specialist, Security Consultant, and Security Engineer.

CompTIA Security+ certification topics

CompTIA Security+ is the fundamental security certification that IT professionals must go for. To earn this certification CompTIA recommends that the professional has CompTIA Network+ and two years of experience in IT administration with a security focus.

Here are the Security+ certification exam domains and their percentage:

  • Threats, Attacks and Vulnerabilities: 21%
  • Technologies and Tools: 22%
  • Architecture and Design: 15%
  • Identity and Access Management: 16%
  • Risk Management: 14%
  • Cryptography and PKI: 12%

These domains covered in Security+ have become a baseline for all cybersecurity jobs. These days, organizations prefer Security+ certified employees as they help them mitigate expensive security threats. Security+ acts as a great stepping stone to other vendor-specific certifications and increases professionals’ value in a competitive industry. It helps them advance towards a rewarding career in security and IT system administration. The professionals with the Security+ certification receive a higher salary than their non-certified co-workers. On earning this certification, you can expect an average salary of between USD 42,130 and $95,830 as a network engineer and within a few years, the professional with this certification can earn about USD 66,890 per year.

Interested in being CompTIA Security+ certified? Start your prep for the certification today with uCertify!

Willy Sudiarto Raharjo has 11+ years of work experience as Lecturer in Duta Wacana Christian University. He has skills in Linux, MySQL, Web development, programming, and more. Recently he accessed uCertify CEH V9 course and provided the following feedback:

Willy Sudiarto Raharjo reviewed uCertify course

“If you are planning to earn the CEH certification quickly, you can start your prep with the uCertify CEH v9 course. It comes with chapters, practice tests, and performance-based labs that simulate real exams. It also contains 100+ pre-assessment questions that can be used to measure your readiness for the certification exam.

The course material is sorted based on the CEH outlines and helps users prepare for the certification in real exam conditions. The labs provide a virtual environment for users to explore and learn. I must say I’m impressed with how uCertify prepared the labs for this kind of certification. It’s a big advantage for those who can’t afford to install virtual machines on their system or need some time to get familiar with Linux before installing it on their own machines.”

To read the complete post, click here.

Thank you Willy for your valuable feedback! We are glad that you found our course helpful.

To know more about Willy, please contact via his LinkedIn profile.