70-631 : MCTS - SharePoint Services 3.0

Retired. This product is no longer available.

The MCTS: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0- Configuration certification is an industry recognized credential. The certification is proof of a person's competence in implementing, managing, and supporting Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007.
33 33
MCTS - SharePoint Services 3.0

Here's what you will get

The MCTS: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0- Configuration certification exam is a standalone certification from Microsoft with the exam code 70-631.

The exam 70-631 is intended for Business Application Administrators (BAAs) who are engaged in the planning, design, and selection of Line of Business (LOB) applications, including Microsoft Office SharePoint Server (MOSS), in conjunction with internal business customers who are using their skills in deployment, customization, management, and support of LOB applications

Pre-assessment Questions
Full Length Tests
Post-Assessment Questions
Exam FAQs
What is the exam registration fee? 150
Where do I take the exam? The Microsoft 70-631 exam is administered by Prometric at testing centers worldwide. Click here to find a testing center near you.
What is the format of the exam? The exam consists of linear, performance based and multiple choice questions
What are the pre-requisites of the exam? While there are no official prerequisites to take the MCTS: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0- Configuration certification, both Microsoft and uCertify strongly recommend candidate should have one year of experience in configuring Windows SharePoint related technologies.
How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 55 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 110 minutes
What is the passing score? 700

(on a scale of 1-1000)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing MCTS: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0- Configuration certification, Microsoft's retake policy is:

  • If a candidate does not achieve a passing score on an exam the first time, the candidate must wait at least 24-hour period before retaking the exam.
  • If a candidate does not achieve a passing score the second time, the candidate must wait at least 14-day period before retaking the exam a third time..
  • A 14-day waiting period will also be imposed for the fourth and fifth subsequent exam retakes. Candidates are allowed maximum five times per year to retake the exam. The candidate would then be eligible to retake the exam after 12 months from that date.In order to take a given exam more than five times per year, a candidate must submit a request and obtain prior permission from Microsoft.
  • If a candidate achieves a passing score on an exam, the candidate cannot take it again.
What is the validity of the certification? The exam 70-631 is retired.
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the 70-631, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?

The MCTS: Windows SharePoint Services 3.0- Configurationcertified professional has several career opportunities open up to them, including:

  • SharePoint Administrator
  • Web Administrators
  • Server Administrators

Here's what you will learn

  • Configure WSS server roles.
  • Configure WSS topology.
  • Create WSS namespace.
  • Upgrade WSS 3.0 from WSS 2.0.
  • Install WSS.
  • Maintain storage performance.
  • Configure centralized monitoring for WSS.
  • Configuring performance monitor.
  • Identify WSS problems using the Web Event Viewer.
  • Monitor logs.
  • Configure Web application authentication.
  • Configure a Web application for SSL.
  • Configure NTLM or Kerberos authentication.
  • Configure roles and site permissions.
  • Implement access policies.
  • Manage database permissions.
  • Configure Information Rights Management (IRM).
  • Configure site settings.
  • Manage Central admin.
  • Administer Windows SharePoint Services by using STSADM.
  • Configure backup and restore (disaster/recovery).
  • Configure master page.
  • Customize pages by using SharePoint Designer.
  • Customize pages using browser.
  • Configure code access security.
  • Configure names resolution.
  • Configuring Network Load Balancing (NLB).
  • Configure WSS to support perimeter network.
  • Configure Internet Security and Acceleration Server (ISA).