SY0-301 : Security+ 2011

Retired. This product is no longer available.

The CompTIA Security+ certification is an industry recognized vendor neutral credential. This certification designates knowledgeable professionals in the field of security, one of the fatest growing fields in IT.
43 43
Security+ 2011
ISBN : 9781616911690

Here's what you will get

CompTIA Security+ is a standalone certification from CompTIA with the exam code SY0-301. This certification covers the most important foundational principles for securing a network and managing risk. Access control, identity management and cryptography are important topics on the exam, as well as selection of appropriate mitigation and deterrent techniques to address network attacks and vulnerabilities. Network+ certification is recommended before taking the Security+ certification.

Glossary of terms
Pre-assessment Questions
Full Length Tests
Exam FAQs
What are the prerequisites for this exam? While there are no official prerequisites for the SY0-301 exam, both CompTIA and uCertify strongly recommend candidates to have two years' experience in IT administration with a focus on security.
What is the exam registration fee? USD 293
Where do I take the exam? The SY0-301 exam is administered by Pearson VUE at testing centers worldwide. Click here to find a testing center near you.
What is the format of the exam? The exam consists of multiple choice and performance-based questions.
How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 90 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 90 minutes
What is the passing score? 750

(on a scale of 100-900)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing the SY0-301 examination, CompTIA's retake policy is:

  • CompTIA does not require a waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass such examination. However, if you need a third or subsequent attempt to pass the examination, you shall be required to wait for a period of at least fourteen calendar days from the date of your last attempt before you can retake the exam.
  • If a candidate has passed an exam, he/she cannot take it again without prior consent from CompTIA.
  • A test result found to be in violation of the retake policy will not be processed, which will result in no credit awarded for the test taken. Repeat violators will be banned from participation in the CompTIA Certification Program.
  • Candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. CompTIA does not offer free re-tests or discounts on retakes.
What is the validity of the certification? CompTIA Security+ certification expires after three years from the date of issue, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification via CompTIA's Continuing Education Program. Click here for more information.
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the SY0-301, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?

A CompTIA Security+ certified professional has several career opportunities open up to them, including:

  • Security architect
  • Security engineer
  • Security consultant/specialist
  • Information Assurance technician/manager
  • Security administrator
  • Systems administrator
  • Network administrator

Here's what you will learn

  • Player Tag 1sasascdcdcdd
  • Player Tag 2
  • Player Tag 3
  • Player Tag 4
  • Player Tag 5
  • Player Tag 8
  • Player Tag 7
  • Player Tag 9 
  • Player Tag 10
  • Player Tag 6
  • Understand Encapsulation Principles
  • Certification SummaryThis chapter has been about...ds must be implemented by the concrete subclass.