SY0-501 : CompTIA® Security+® Study Guide Exam SY0-501 Seventh Edition

CompTIA® Security+® Study Guide...
ISBN : 978-1-61691-990-0
Be a certified CompTIA Security+ professional with CompTIA Security+ Study Guide Seventh Edition course. The course focuses on the CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 exam objectives that include application of security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity, and availability; identification of appropriate technologies and products; troubleshooting security events and incidents, and much more. The course provides you knowledge and skills to identify risk, participate in risk mitigation activities, provide infrastructure, information, operational, and application security.

Here's what you will get

CompTIA Security+ is an entry-level, international, vendor-neutral credential designed for IT security professionals. CompTIA Security+ is a standalone certification from CompTIA with the exam code SY0-501. This certification covers the most important principles for securing a network and managing risk. The CompTIA Network+ certification is recommended before taking the CompTIA Security+ exam. The exam covers the essential principles for network security and risk management that is why this is an important stepping stone of an IT security career.

Glossary of terms
Pre-assessment Questions
Full Length Tests
Post-Assessment Questions
Exam FAQs
What are the prerequisites for this exam? CompTIA Network+ and two years of experience in IT administration with a focus on security.
What is the exam registration fee? USD 330
Where do I take the exam? The SY0-501 exam is administered by Pearson VUE at testing centers worldwide. Click here to find a testing center near you.
What is the format of the exam? The exam consists of multiple choice and performance-based questions.
How many questions are asked in the exam? The exam contains 90 questions.
What is the duration of the exam? 90 minutes
What is the passing score? 750

(on a scale of 100-900)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing the SY0-501 examination, CompTIA's retake policy is:

  • CompTIA does not require a waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass such examination. However, if you need a third or subsequent attempt to pass the examination, you shall be required to wait for a period of at least fourteen calendar days from the date of your last attempt before you can retake the exam.
  • If a candidate has passed an exam, he/she cannot take it again without prior consent from CompTIA.
  • A test result found to be in violation of the retake policy will not be processed, which will result in no credit awarded for the test taken. Repeat violators will be banned from participation in the CompTIA Certification Program.
  • Candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. CompTIA does not offer free re-tests or discounts on retakes.
What is the validity of the certification? CompTIA Security+ certification expires after three years from the date of issue, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification via CompTIA's Continuing Education Program.
Where can I find more information about this exam? To know more about the SY0-501, click here.
Which certification covers this exam?
What are the career opportunities after passing this exam?
  • Security Architect
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Administrator
  • Systems Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • Security Consultant/Specialist

Here's what you will learn

  • Before You Begin the CompTIA Security+ Certification Exam
  • Why Become Security+ Certified?
  • How to Become a Security+ Certified Professional
  • Who Should Read This Book?
  • What Does This Book Cover?
  • Tips for Taking the Security+ Exam
  • Exam SY0-501 Exam Objectives
  • SY0-501 Certification Exam Objective Map
  • Threat Assessment
  • Risk Assessment
  • Developing Policies, Standards, and Guidelines
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Frameworks, Best Practices, and Configuration Guides
  • Secure Network Architecture Concepts
  • Secure Systems Design
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Designing with Security in Mind
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Using Tools to Assess Your Network
  • Troubleshooting Common Security Issues
  • Security Technologies
  • Identity and Access Management Concepts
  • Install and Configure Identity and Access Services
  • File and Database Security
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Wireless Vulnerabilities to Know
  • Wireless Commonsense
  • Wireless Attack Analogy
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Working with Cloud Computing
  • Working with Virtualization
  • Security and the Cloud
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Use of Open Source Intelligence
  • Types of Vulnerabilities
  • Embedded Systems Security
  • Application Vulnerabilities
  • Secure Programming
  • Other Application Security Issues
  • Code Issues
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • An Overview of Cryptography
  • Modern Cryptography
  • Using Cryptographic Systems
  • Understanding Cryptography Standards and Protocols
  • Public Key Infrastructure
  • Using Public Key Infrastructure
  • Authentication
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Living in a World of Viruses
  • Malware and Crypto-Malware
  • Understanding Various Types of Application/Service Attacks
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Understanding Social Engineering
  • Understanding Physical Security
  • Various Control Types
  • Data Security and Privacy Practices
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Connection Types
  • Mobile Devices
  • Account Management Concepts
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials
  • Penetration Testing
  • Issues Associated with Business Continuity
  • Summary
  • Exam Essentials