SY0-501 Labs : CompTIA Security+ Labs (SY0-501)

Prepare for CompTIA Security+: SY0-501 certification exam by CompTIA Security+ (SY0-501) performance-based labs. Performance-based labs simulate real-world, hardware, software & command line interface environments and can be mapped to any text-book, course & training. CompTIA Security+ performance-based labs cover all the objectives of CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 exam which include the application of security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity, and availability; identification of appropriate technologies and products; troubleshooting security events and incidents, and much more. CompTIA Security+ is an entry-level, international, vendor-neutral credential designed for IT security professionals to identify risk, participate in risk mitigation activities, provide infrastructure, information, operational, and application security.
CompTIA Security+ Labs (SY0-501)


Online labs can be used to supplement training. uCertify labs are an inexpensive & safe way to explore and learn. uCertify labs are versatile - labs simulate real-world, hardware, software & command line interface environments and can be mapped to any text-book, course & training.

Here's What You Get

Performance based lab

Hands on Activities

Managing Risk

  • Creating a virtual machine
  • Importing a virtual machine
  • Configuring secondary virtual hard disk

Monitoring and Diagnosing Networks

  • Installing the Web Server IIS server role
  • Allowing SSL connections
  • Preventing zone transfers
  • Securing default accounts
  • Installing and configuring NLB Nodes
  • Configuring NLB operations

Understanding Devices and Infrastructure

  • Managing Windows Firewall
  • Using Network Monitor
  • Configuring Windows firewall
  • Creating a virtual switch
  • Updating Windows Defender
  • Using BitLocker in Windows 10
  • Configuring a perimeter firewall
  • Configuring remote access VPN
  • Configuring the SSL port setting
  • Using Windows Defender

Identity and Access Management

  • Viewing results of live hosts
  • Verifying network services
  • Observing traffic pattern using Wireshark
  • Analyzing protocols with Wireshark
  • Assigning permissions to folders
  • Responding to social engineering
  • Configuring email filter
  • Enabling intrusion prevention and detection
  • Implementing Data Execution Prevention
  • Configuring Kerberos Policy settings
  • Installing Remote Access Services
  • Configuring a static TCP/IP address
  • Encrypting files with EFS

Wireless Network Threats

Securing the Cloud

Host, Data, and Application Security


  • Observing MD5 hash
  • Using openssl to create a public/private keypair
  • Adding certificates to mmc

Threats, Attacks, and Vulnerabilities

  • Working with Task Manager
  • Simulating a DoS attack
  • Viewing running processes on a linux-based machine

Social Engineering and Other Foes

  • Enabling debug logging on the DNS server
  • Adding netcraft extension
  • Spoofing MAC addresses with SMAC
  • Clearing the DNS Cache
  • Using ettercap for ARP Spoofing

Security Administration

  • Resetting a password
  • Enabling audit policies
  • Enabling object access auditing
  • Configuring group policy settings
  • Creating a Fine-Grained Password Policy
  • Managing services with Group Policy
  • Restricting local accounts
  • Creating a user account and configuring restriction
  • Configuring account policies
  • Configuring audit group policy
  • Managing user accounts

Disaster Recovery and Incident Response

  • Installing Windows Server Backup
  • Creating a backup schedule
  • Creating a back up once
  • Running a security scan to identify vulnerabilities
  • Remediating vulnerabilities on local workstation
  • Remediating vulnerabilities on the network

Exam Information

CompTIA Security+ is a standalone certification from CompTIA with the exam code SY0-501. This certification covers the most important principles for securing a network and managing risk. The CompTIA Network+ certification is recommended before taking the Security+ exam.

Prepare for the following certification

Career Prospects

A CompTIA Security+ certified professional has several career opportunities open up to them, including:

  • Security Architect
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Administrator
  • Systems Administrator
  • Network Administrator
  • Security Consultant/Specialist
Exam FAQs
What is the exam registration fee?
USD 320
Where do I take the exam?
The SY0-501 exam is administered by Pearson VUE at testing centers worldwide. Click here to find a testing center near you.
What is the format of the exam?
The exam consists of multiple choice and performance-based questions.
How many questions are asked in the exam?
The exam contains 90 questions.
What is the duration of the exam?
90 minutes
What is the passing score?

(on a scale of 100-900)

What is the exam's retake policy?

In the event that you fail your first attempt at passing the SY0-401 examination, CompTIA's retake policy is:

  • CompTIA does not require a waiting period between the first and second attempt to pass such examination. However, if you need a third or subsequent attempt to pass the examination, you shall be required to wait for a period of at least fourteen calendar days from the date of your last attempt before you can retake the exam.
  • If a candidate has passed an exam, he/she cannot take it again without prior consent from CompTIA.
  • A test result found to be in violation of the retake policy will not be processed, which will result in no credit awarded for the test taken. Repeat violators will be banned from participation in the CompTIA Certification Program.
  • Candidates must pay the exam price each time they attempt the exam. CompTIA does not offer free re-tests or discounts on retakes.
What is the validity of the certification?
CompTIA Security+ certification expires after three years from the date of issue, after which the certification holder will need to renew their certification via CompTIA's Continuing Education Program.
Where can I find more information about this exam?
To know more about the SY0-501-lab, click here.

uCertify provides courses, simulator, labs, test prep kits for IT certifications including Microsoft, Oracle, Cisco, CompTIA, CIW, PMI, ISC2, Linux, Zend, Google, IC3 , Adobe and many more.

© 2002-2017 uCertify. All Rights Reserved