Cisco is introducing new Security Specialist certifications to recognize individuals who have a thorough understanding and knowledge of network security. Per Cisco, the programs are two-year certifications intended to recognize the Cisco network security specialists who have the necessary skills to test, deploy, configure, maintain, and troubleshoot Cisco network security appliances and Cisco IOS Software devices that establish the security posture of the network. Prior to attempting the Cisco Network Security Specialist certification or any of its associated specializations, individuals must meet the requirements for the Cisco CCNA® Security certification and have at least one to three years of experience in the field of network security.

The three new certifications are:

  • Cisco Firewall Security Specialist -: The Cisco Firewall Security Specialist certification measures the ability of a candidate in designing, implementing and maintaining Cisco security appliance solutions, using the Cisco ASA adaptive security appliance and zone-based firewall solutions.
  • Cisco IOS Security Specialist -: The Cisco IOS Security Specialist certification measures the ability of a candidate in securing networks, using Cisco IOS Security features embedded in the latest Cisco routers and switches as well as the widely deployed Cisco security appliances.
  • Cisco VPN Security Specialist -: The Cisco VPN Security Specialist certification measures the ability of a candidate in configuring, maintaining, troubleshooting and supporting various VPN solutions, using Cisco IOS Software and the robust Cisco ASA adaptive security appliance.

  • The Cisco Security certification portfolio now supports six key technologies with certifications for these Security Specialists:

  • Cisco IPS Specialist
  • Cisco NAC Specialist
  • Cisco ASA Specialist
  • Cisco IOS Security Specialist – NEW
  • Cisco Firewall Security Specialist – NEW
  • Cisco VPN Security Specialist – NEW

To read more on this please visit the following link:

Q. What is the CSSLP exam?
A. The CSSLP is designed to stem the proliferation of security vulnerabilities resulting from insufficient development processes by establishing best practices and validating an individual’s competency in addressing security issues throughout the software development life cycle (SDLC).

The CSSLP is also designed to attest to the certified professional’s ability to mitigate the security concerns and risks that surround application development throughout the SDLC from the original specification and design, through implementation, maintenance and disposal. The CSSLP is code-language neutral and is applicable to anyone involved in the SDLC, such as analysts, developers, software engineers, software architects, project managers, software quality assurance testers and programmers.

Q. What certificate does it provide?
A. This exam provides the CSSLP certification.

Q. How many questions are asked in the test?
A. The CSSLP exam consists of 175 multiple choice questions, each having four choices. 25 of the questions are used for research, but these questions are not identified. These research questions are not part of the total score.

Q. What is the duration of the test?
A. Candidates are required to attempt all questions in 4 hours.

Q. Which type of the test is it? (Adaptive/Linear)
A. It is a linear test.

Q. What is the passing score?
A. The candidate must score at least 700 on a scale of 1000.

Q. What is the test retake policy?
A. If you do not pass the exam in first attempt, you can retake the exam after 30 days without submitting another application. The candidates are limited to a maximum of two attempts for each 90 day application period. If the 30 day gap between testing attempts has passed, the candidate needs to submit another application for the exam.

Q. Is the CSSLP exam right for me?
A. The CSSLP exam prepares you for various job roles, which include Software developer, Engineer and architect, Product manager, Project manager, and Business analyst. This certification is an appropriate credential for Software Developer and Project Manager who may typically work as independent consultants or in similar capacities.

Q. What are the skills being measured for the CSSLP exam?
A. The skills measured for the CSSLP exam are as follows:

  • Understanding secure software concepts
  • Evaluating secure software requirements
  • Designing secure software
  • Implementing and coding secure software
  • Testing secure software
  • Understanding software acceptance

Q. How to prepare for the CSSLP exam?
A. In order to prepare for the CSSLP exam, you should prepare the following major domains of the CBK covered by CSSLP certification:

  • Secure Software Concepts
  • Secure Software Requirements
  • Secure Software Design
  • Secure Software Implementation/Coding
  • Secure Software Testing
  • Software Acceptance
  • Software Deployment, Operations, Maintenance and Disposal

Q. Where to take the test?
A. The testing centers are provided by the testing partner as you register for the exam. For CSSLP, the testing partner is Pearson VUE.

Q. How do I register for an CSSLP exam?
A. Take the following steps to register for an CSSLP exam:

  • Select a date and location
  • Create a Contact Record/Log In
  • Agree to Terms & Conditions
  • Complete the Online Form
  • Make Payment
  • When the registration is received and application is approved, admission documents for the examination will be emailed to the candidate.

Q. How to locate a testing center?
A. You may choose a testing center from the Pearson VUE testing center list.